Music Inspired site

Those other bands are just Post-mix Lemonade

As a songwriter and lead vocalist, there’s no question Alex Turner is well known for his acute observations and poetic phrases that make it easy for fans to quote favourite lines to express exactly how they feel about their personal infatuations, insecurities and disillusionment.  And although some may claim the fourth album Suck it and See lacks the witty wordplay and piercing metaphors of past albums, I believe the melodies and arrangements more than make up for any absence of wit.  It also seems next to impossible to listen to these addictive tracks while sitting still.  NME rated the album a 9 out of 10 and calls it intelligent, love-steeped songcraft.  An album in love with language, that sounds unique, sophisticated and strangely timeless.

She’s Thunderstorms is the perfect choice for the opening track, setting a melodic, romantic tone for the rest of the album.  She came and substituted the peace and quiet for acrobatic blood flow concertina, is adulation at its best for an unattainable muse.  When you’re feeling far away, she does what the night does to day, this love Turner sings about is all encompassing and reminds me of a time when love was all consuming and empty promises.  Brick by Brick is an intense, gritty garage rock and roll tune that slows down and speeds up with perfect precision.  Simple and fun this single once released seemed like a calculated move to throw fans off of what they expected for the fourth album.  But there was no need to fear, this track is quite a detour from the majority of songs on the album, apart from Don’t Sit down Because I’ve moved your Chair. So all the uppity, Indie rock fans who hate the new Arctic Monkey’s style won’t have too much to complain about. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala is an upbeat, pop ditty that will have you singing along to the chorus all day long. My favourite lines are…Did you ever get the feeling, that these are things she’s said before? Her steady hands may well have done the devil’s pedicure what you waiting for? Sing another Fucking Shalalala!!!  I just cant get that one out of my head, it’s too infectious.

Their sound had once been described as lumbering, stoner rock heavily influenced by Josh Hommes on the Humbug album. Although Suck it and See isn’t quite a return to their original sound, it is a solid collection of mid-tempo rhythms and guitar riffs as beautifully demonstrated on Library Pictures.  Jamie Cook shows off his evolution on guitar with this album, and even received a comparison to Johnny Marr, guitarist for The Smiths by one reviewer. If I had to describe the sounds of Suck It and See, I’d summarize it as wistful, nostalgic, Indie rock.  Reckless Serenade is another favourite of mine that captures that sense of clumsy carefree abandon as, the type of kisses where teeth collide.  The ideal little ditty about the constant need for someone who illuminates your life and becomes your obsession, so that you loose all your wits and sing a reckless serenade.

Turner’s lyrics have a tendency to portray exactly what it feels like to be young, clever and in love. His depictions of love and alienation make their songs easy to relate to.  Don’t take it so personally, You’re not the only one that time has got it in for… wise words from closing track That’s where you’re wrong.

Despite unrestrained criticism from Uncut, they still had this to say about the album “Even the biggest Arctics fan wouldn’t have suggested beauty among the band’s key qualities. But Suck It And See is full of beautiful tunes, beautifully played and beautifully produced. It’s a record that goes a long way toward breathing new life into the busted flush of English indie with a romantic Britpop sound that stands comparison with The Smiths, The La’s and New Order.”  Seems like a good bit of praise for an album that was burdened by so many expectations and a diffused fan base after the release of Humbug.  From what I’ve heard I like the off beat path the Arctic Monkeys have taken, they seem to be leaving a trail of admirers behind.  They did warn us they are not what people say they are, so why not discover this record for yourself and form your own conclusions.  In my opinion they are quite simply Brilliant.

1. She’s Thunderstorms
2. Black Treacle
3. Brick by Brick
4. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
5. Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
6. Library Pictures
7. All My Own Stunts
8. Reckless Serenade
9. Piledriver Waltz
10. Love is a Laserquest
11. Suck It and See
12. That’s Where You’re Wrong


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s